Tinder social feature is a massive invasion of privacy for all those using the dating app


_________________________

WHEN Tinder introduced the Super Like feature it was a welcome way to ensure your profile would stand out to a member of the fairer gender.
Tinder’s latest feature hasn’t been as well received, with users slamming the dating app for invading their privacy.
To make matters worse, the creepy new feature is only affecting Australia.
The test feature, called Tinder Social, is currently only available to a select number of Australian users and has been created for the sole purpose of encouraging users to partake in group dates.
Tinder users are given the option to create a group with friends using the app, which they can use to swipe and match with other groups.
“You can then chat with your group matches or see their status to find out what they’re up to and where everyone’s headed,” Tinder wrote in its blog.
“It’s a way to go to places full of people you’ve already matched with, making socialising so much easier once you’re out and about.”
While the sentiment itself seems a little strange, that’s not even the worst aspect — the feature has no opt-in feature and Tinder Social is automatically activated.
Upon logging in, users are continually suggested to “create a group” in between swiping left and right on potential love interests.
When users agree to start a group, they are taken to a screen with a list of every person they are Facebook friends with using the service.
Tinder hoped this feature would encourage people to create groups, but all it really did was out everyone in your friendship group who is a Tinder user.
While Tinder requires a Facebook profile to join the app, it never posted anything to show users were using the service, allowing people to be discreet.
This new feature means anonymity has gone out the window, which would have shy or unfaithful people concerned over the privacy breach.
Creators of the group also have the ability to look at the full profile of their Facebook friends without their consent.
Angry users have already taken the internet to voice their concerns over the automatic changes.
“I sent them feedback and deleted my account. All I can do. Absolutely f***ing disgusting,” one user wrote on Reddit.
“Talk about an invasion of privacy? I just found every one of my facebook friends who use tinder,” wrote another.
Tinder has since responded to the backlash saying users can opt-out of Tinder Social in their account settings, meaning they will no longer appear in the feature.
It even added insult to injury by suggesting exposing people for using the service is no biggie.
“We are only testing it at this point, but it’s important to note Tinder’s not a secret considering 70 per cent of users download Tinder because their friends recommend it,” it wrote.
Oh, thanks for clearing that up Tinder. It’s good to know that 30 per cent of your users don’t get a say in their privacy.
Source:http://www.news.com.au/technology/online/social/tinder-social-feature-is-a-massive-invasion-of-privacy-for-all-those-using-the-dating-app/news-story/2ff112ff997754d864820394eeaf9a31

Leave a Reply